Regional Water Authority Memorandum of Understanding Signed

Toledo Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz, along with leaders from Lucas County, Maumee, Perrysburg, Sylvania, Whitehouse, Fulton County, Monroe County, and the Northwestern Water and Sewer District, signed a memorandum of understanding Wednesday to form the Toledo Area Water Authority.

Leaders from Toledo and the suburban communities have been meeting since May, 2017, with a consultant hired by the Toledo Regional Chamber of Commerce, to help the parties come to a consensus.

The city of Toledo posted information on the Toledo Area Water Authority at

The Chamber of Commerce launched today to provide information. View video of the signing here.

“There has been much work and many meetings on a regional water system,” Mayor Kapszukiewicz said. “We have studied it for more than a decade. If we do nothing, our rates will continue to go up. Today is another step in this process. It is not the end. We want everyone, the legislative representatives of every community, the residents, and the business owners, to look at the memorandum of understanding and ask questions. We want everyone to have as much information on this process as possible. We look forward to working with all and holding public meetings.”

The mayor said the memorandum of understanding accomplished a great deal.

“There is still work to be done,” he said. “We need to solve issues and continue to work on this together. It is our hope that we can come to a common understanding of the process and shape the final agreement together.”