Regional Water

Representatives of the City of Toledo and the communities that receive Toledo’s wholesale water have agreed in principle to establish a new regional water authority that will be named the Toledo Area Water Authority (TAWA). It is a planned regional collaboration on water management that is being created under Ohio law to better ensure a safe and redundant supply of water.

The intent of TAWA is to provide a number of benefits, including more transparency and collaborative water management. A Memorandum of Understanding was drafted by all parties and signed Jan. 31, 2018.

The Authority will support sustainable economic development through effective and efficient water utility service delivery. Creating the Authority will require numerous transactions and legal filings that are anticipated to be executed this year.

Leaders from Toledo, Lucas County, Maumee, Perrysburg, Sylvania, Whitehouse, Fulton County, Monroe County, and the Northwestern Water and Sewer District have been meeting since May, 2017, with a consultant hired by the Toledo Regional Chamber of Commerce to help the parties come to a consensus.


What is the Authority?

· The Authority will be an independent organization that provides water to communities in the Toledo metropolitan region.

· The members may include Fulton County, Lucas County, Maumee, Perrysburg, Toledo, Sylvania, Whitehouse, Monroe County, Mich., and the Northwestern Water and Sewer District.

· The Authority will be funded through wholesale and retail services rates and issue revenue bonds. It will not have property taxing authority.


Mayor Kapszukiewicz is working with Toledo City Council to schedule public meetings in each of the six council districts. The times and locations will be posted here once the meetings are scheduled.

Sign up for Toledo Text Alerts to be notified of any public meetings scheduled in your zip code. Simply select the the "Meetings" option or any other pertinent news you would like to receive by clicking below. 

Toledo Text Alerts