Gas Cap Testing

Gascaplogo

 

Gas Cap Testing and Replacement Program Reduces Ozone Formation

 

The  City of Toledo Division of Environmental Services and the Toledo Metropolitan Council of Governments (TMACOG) have partnered together to offer the Gas Cap Testing and Replacement Program for 2019.  The purpose of the program is to educate the general public on the importance of a functioning gas cap and its impact on ground level ozone pollution, commonly referred to as "smog".  A faulty gas can result in the loss of roughly 2 tanks of gas per year. 

Gas cap testing is voluntary and takes only a few minutes.  A fuel cap adapter specific to the make, model and year of the car and an attached leak detector are used to test the seal of the gas cap to the tank. Participants in the program, if found with a leaky gas cap, will be provided with a replacement gas cap at no charge.

2019 Gas Cap Replacement Program Event Schedule

Tuesday, June 11 Kroger, 2555 Glendale Ave., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, June 12 True North/Shell, 298 W. Dussel Drive, Maumee 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, June 13 Kroger, 1094 N. Main St., Bowling Green 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, June 18 Barney’s, 5821 N. Detroit, Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, June 19 Kroger, 27322 Carronade Dr., Perrysburg 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, June 20 Circle K, 4562 Woodville Rd., Northwood 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, June 25 Kroger, 7545 Sylvania Ave., Sylvania  1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, June 26 True North/Shell, 1000 Buck Rd., Rossford  1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, June 27 Kroger, 4633 Suder Ave., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, July 9 True North/Shell, 1031 S. Reynolds Rd., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, July 10 Kroger, 3462 W. Sterns Rd., Lambertville 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, July 11 True North/Shell, 6903 Angola Rd., Holland 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, July 16 Kroger, 2257 N. Holland Sylvania Rd., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, July 17 Barney's, 28311 Crossroads Pkwy., Rossford 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, July 18 Kroger, 3301 Navarre Ave, Oregon 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, July 23 Circle K, 1235 N. Holland Sylvania Rd., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, July 24 Kroger, 6235 Monroe St., Sylvania 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, July 25 True North/Shell, 5855 Weckerly Road, Whitehouse 1 PM – 3 PM
Tuesday, July 30 Circle K, 103 Anthony Wayne Trail, Waterville 1 PM – 3 PM
Wednesday, July 31 True North/Shell, 5473 Monroe St., Toledo 1 PM – 3 PM
Thursday, August 1 Circle K, 8154 Airport Hwy., Holland 1 PM – 3 PM

The ozone layer, miles above the earth, protects you. But ground-level ozone, what earthlings call smog, can be harmful to children, the elderly, and anyone with respiratory problems. Ozone can destroy lung and airway tissue in much the same way the sun damages your skin.

2018 Gas Cap Summary Report

2017 Gas Cap Summary Report

According to The American Lung Association, air pollution:
• Contributes to asthma, emphysema, lung cancer and bronchitis.
• Soils clothes, houses, and automobiles.
• Makes paint peel and discolor.
• Rusts and tarnishes metals.
• Reduces visibility and sunlight.
• Destroys plants and crops.
• Deteriorates statues, monuments, and buildings.

Your gas cap could be leaking regardless of the age of your car, but the odds are higher if your gas cap is more than 3 years old. Significant numbers of cars are leaking gas fumes through their gas caps. This wastes gas and money and adds to our area’s pollution problem. Every leaking gas cap = 199 pounds more pollution in our air every year.

Practice “Clean Air Car Care”
• Perform regular maintenance as recommended for your car.
• Use the right fuel as recommended by the owner’s manual.
• Keep tires aligned and inflated properly.
• Have the catalytic converter, ignition, timing, and/or carburetor inspected if you are having problems stalling or using fuel faster than usual.