Human Relations Commission

“The Human Relations Commission shall endeavor to support a safe, energetic, and livable city. The commission will support residents working to overcome prejudice and build mutual respect.”

Human Relations Commission general phone and mediation number: (419) 245-1518


Toledo City Council on June 5, 2018 appointed 12 members to the newly-formed Human Relations Commission.

Those selected by the Kapszukiewicz administration for the Human Relations Commission, and confirmed by council, are:

  • Dr. Fatima Al-Hayani, lecturer on Muslim Women and Muslim Family Law.
  • Michael Alexander, AFL-CIO, UAW liaison to United Way and on Neighborhood Health Association board member.
  • Najwa Badawi, executive committee member of the Islamic Center of Greater Toledo.
  • Erin Baker, manager, Kent Branch, Toledo Lucas County Public Library.
  • Malaika Bell, program manager, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, University of Toledo.
  • Lauraine Carpenter, principal trumpet for The Toledo Symphony.
  • Raina Dawson, a University of Toledo Law School student and trained mediator. 
  • Thomas Douglas, an attorney in private practice and a trained mediator who trains mediators.
  • James Hartung, executive director of Toledo Sister Cities.
  • Guiselle McDonald, a Welcome Toledo Lucas County board member. 
  • Ramona Olvera, sociology Instructor at Owens Community College.
  • Christina Rodriguez, Executive Director, Mom's House
  • Tony Thomas, pastor, author, and motivational speaker working on chemical dependency.

The commission consists of fourteen members. Thirteen members are citizens appointed by the mayor and subject to confirmation by council in accordance with the composition requirements set forth herein. The remaining member is a member of city council who sits on the commission in an ex-officio capacity. The council member of the commission is the chairman of the council committee with oversight of the commission as determined by the president and members of council. The councilmember of the commission is non-voting.

Initially the composition of the thirteen citizen members of the commission will include four members appointed to one-year terms, four members appointed to two-year terms, and five members will be appointed to three-year terms. Members appointed after the initial members are appointed shall be appointed for three-year terms. To the greatest extent practicable, the commission shall be comprised of members who represent the racial and ethnic diversity of the men and women of Toledo, and who have demonstrated in their words and actions a sensitivity to the need to end discrimination and ensure equal opportunity for all.

In order to ensure representation of a broad range of community perspectives, the commission will include one labor representative, one religious affiliation representative, one education representative, one business or economic development representative, one youth representative, one member of the legal community, one neighborhood representative, one LGBT representative, and five at-large appointments. The at-large appointments include the four members and the board chairman who make up an executive committee.



Mediation Intake Form

Party One Contact Information:

If needed, please attach any documentation you may have.
Party Two Contact Information
Please submit the completed intake form to
You will be contacted by an HRC staff member to follow-up with any questions or to schedule mediation. If you do not hear back from an HRC staff member within two weeks after you have submitted your application, please call our office at (419) 245-1518. Thank you for using the City of Toledo’s Mediation services presented by the Human Relations Commission. We look forward to assisting you and others in finding an acceptable resolution.