City Council

Toledo City Council is the legislative branch of City Government and operates in accordance with the provisions of the Charter of the City of Toledo, first adopted by the voters in 1914 and amended by the voters from time to time. Legislative authority in the City is vested in a twelve-member Council. Six members of the Council are elected at-large and six from districts; all for four-year terms.

The Council is authorized to enact ordinances and resolutions relating to City services, tax levies, appropriating and borrowing money, licensing and regulating businesses and trades and other municipal activities. The Council also has authority to fix the compensation of City officers and employees. The Council elects one of its members to serve as the President of Council and President Pro Tempore its presiding officers.

Contact City Council

One Government Center, Suite 2100
Toledo, Ohio 43604

Phone: 419-245-1050

Fax: 419-245-1072

Upcoming City Council Meetings

View All Events