Mayor Kapszukiewicz Submits 2022 Budget and Announces Organizational Changes

Monday, November 15, 2021

Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz announced today the proposed 2022 City of Toledo budget. The City of Toledo Charter requires the budget to be submitted annually to Toledo City Council by November 15.

The 2022 proposed budget revenues total $890 million and expenditures total $883 million with a general fund budget of approximately $279.1 million. We have proposed a capital improvement to general fund transfer of $18 million and a $1.1 million reduction in general fund balance. Both of these are necessary to preserve essential city services and ensure we are prepared to handle the impact of the income tax changes made by the State of Ohio regarding remote work.

“Next year we have even greater opportunity to move our city forward,” Mayor Kapszukiewicz said. "The 2022 budget coupled with the Toledo Recovery Plan will allow us to make unprecedented investments in our city.

For the first time, the budget was created using OpenGov. This tool allows for the creation of the budget, creation of reporting documents and dashboards that are integrated with SAP and allows for increased transparency on City of Toledo spending.

The Mayor’s letter to Toledo City Council, that is submitted with the budget, is attached. A budget highlights document is also attached.

All details of the budget may be found at

Read the Mayor's letter and budget highlights.

In addition to the budget, Mayor Kapszukiewicz announced leadership changes for his second term. Specifically, the addition of Safety Director Brian Byrd and Deputy Safety Director Angel Tucker. Chief Byrd will be retiring from the Toledo Rescue and Fire Department after 33.5 years of service. His start date as Safety Director will be February 11, 2022. The Toledo Fire Chief position will be posted internally.

Angel Tucker will be joining the City of Toledo from the Oregon Place Department. His start date will be January 3, 2022. Mr. Tucker’s resume and the Deputy Safety Director job description are attached.

“The reorganization of my administration will allow us to focus on our priorities - public safety, investment in roads, opportunities for youth, and community and business development,” Mayor Kapszukiewicz said.

Abby Arnold and Karen Poore will serve as Deputy Mayors. Joe Fausnaugh will serve as the Director of Parks and Youth Engagement Department. Doug Stevens will serve as Director of the newly created Department of Transportation. Brandon Sehlhorst will serve as Director of the Economic Development Department and Sandy Spang will serve as Deputy Director. Rosalyn Clemens will continue as Director of the newly named and organized Department of Housing and Community Development.

Press Conference

Watch it Live

Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz was joined by new Deputy Mayors Abby Arnold and Karen Poore for a presentation about the 2022 proposed budget.