Mayor Kapszukiewicz and Reapportionment Committee Announced Process for City Council Redistricting

Monday, March 14, 2022

Mayor Kapszukiewicz and members of the Reapportionment Committee announced the process for redistricting City Council during a press conference on Monday, March 14th. Upcoming public meetings about the redistricting process were also announced.

Every ten years after the decennial census, the City of Toledo is required by the City Charter to redraw City Council districts. These districts are required to follow the existing voting precinct lines and need to have a population count within 5% of each district. The census data is then used to determine the population shifts and change to modify the boundaries of the council districts.

The Reapportionment Committee, which is appointed by Mayor Kapszukiewicz, includes Mike Beazley, Ken Fallows, Devon Overton, Sally Perz, Donna Owens, and Brittany Jones.

The City of Toledo Reapportionment Committee is in the process of modifying these boundaries, and is requesting public feedback via four public meetings for residents to hear the proposals and provide feedback in an online survey.

The public meeting schedule is:

Wednesday, March 30
6 - 7:30 p.m.
Mott Branch Library
Community Room B
Thursday, March 31
6 - 7:30 p.m.
Heatherdowns Branch Library
Community Room A+B
Monday, April 4
6 - 7:30 p.m.
Reynolds Corner Branch Library
Large Community Room
Thursday, April 7
6 - 7:30 p.m.
Kent Branch Library
Community Room A
Monday, April
6 - 7:30 p.m.
Friendship Park Community Center

An online survey, more information, and maps of the current and proposed City Council districts can be found here.